top of page

Disaster Recovery Centers Are Changing Operating Hours

Release date:

August 31, 2018

Release Number:


GUAYNABO, Puerto Rico – Disaster recovery centers in 21 municipalities are changing operating hours beginning Tuesday, Sept. 4.

Centers in the following municipalities will be open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Tuesday to Saturday and closed on Sunday and Monday: Bayamón, Loíza, Juana Díaz, Utuado, Ponce, San Juan, Aguadilla, Canóvanas, Fajardo, Arecibo, Barranquitas, Mayagüez, Coamo, Comerío, Guayama, Naranjito, Villalba, Ciales and Salinas.

Centers in Jayuya and Lares will be open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday to Saturday and closed on Sunday and Monday.

Since October 2017, FEMA and the Government of Puerto Rico have opened 68 disaster recovery centers across the island where 800,000 survivors have been helped. FEMA and the Government of Puerto Rico are consolidating centers and increasing disaster assistance resources as the emergency response moves into the recovery phase.

Voluntary agencies and other community partners are increasingly staffing centers to address unmet needs of survivors. Centers will remain open through this year’s hurricane season.

Recovery officials encourage Irma and Maria survivors who registered for disaster assistance with FEMA to stay in touch. If survivors change addresses or phone numbers they should contact FEMA to update their information. Missing or incorrect information could result in delays in receiving assistance.

Survivors can visit any disaster recovery center. To find the closest center, call the FEMA helpline at 800-621-FEMA (3362). People who are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY may call 800-462-7585. Toll-free numbers are open daily from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. They may also visit

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page